Saturday, February 2, 2019

Lt. Governor felicitates 41 Isles sportspersons with cash awards

 Port Blair, Jan 30: The Lt. Governor, A & N Islands, Admiral D K Joshi, PVSM, AVSM, YSM, NM, VSM, (Retd.) has felicitated sportspersons, who have brought laurels to the Islands and the nation as well. At a felicitation ceremony held at Raj Niwas on Jan 25, 2019, the Lt. Governor gave away cash awards to as many as 41 sportspersons of the Islands. The Member of Parliament, Shri Bishnu Pada Ray, DGP, Shri Dependra Pathak, Principal Secretary, Shri Vikram Dev Dutt, Chairperson, PBMC, Smt. Anusia Devi, Adhyaksh, Zilla Parishad, South Andaman, Shri Sanjib Kumar Mandal, and other senior officers of the Administration were also present on the occasion.
Congratulating the sportspersons for bringing laurels to the Islands and the country as well, the Lt. Governor reiterated the commitment of the Administration in encouraging sports in the archipelago. He said that efforts are being made to provide sports infrastructures in the Islands. Besides, training and coaching are also being made available with the objective to promote sports, the Lt. Governor said. The Government under the leadership of Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi is focusing on promotion of sports in the country, so that our sportspersons can achieve success in sports arena, he mentioned.
The Lt. Governor, while acknowledging the achievements of the Islands sportspersons said that the Administration will continue to encourage sport talents of the Islands by way of felicitating them as also providing them assistance. All necessary steps will be initiated towards improvement of sports in the Islands, he remarked.
In his welcome address, the Secretary Education, Shri D Manikandan informed that the Administration is encouraging sports in the Islands by honouring sportspersons every year, who have achieved success at national and international sports competition. This year, altogether 41 sportspersons of the Islands are honoured for bringing laurels to the Islands and the nation as well, he said.
The function concluded with the vote of thanks, proposed by Shri Kamlesh Kumar, Director of Education.

No comments:

Post a Comment